Jambo from Kenya!!

“The colour of Africa- brown, a thousand different shades of brown. Pale brown grass on red brown soil, with twisted, chocolate brown tree trunks reaching up to the moving masses of brown leaves at their tips. Flickering indefinite brown were the herds of springbok that fed amongst the trees and on the slopes of the bare bulging brown hills, and the brown land reached away vast and unhurried into immeasurable distance, unmarred by the scratchings of man: tranquil and dignified in its immensity” –Wilbur Smith.

blog

I saw it all… Not just the browns of the land and the springbok, but the browns of the lions and the giraffes, the blacks of the gnus, the stripes of the zebras and the grays of the massive giants. The spotting of every single species there, except the Homo sapiens of course, was a lifer for me. Birds of all colours, animals of various sizes, ranging from the smallest antelope –the dikdik, which jumped across the road in one giant leap, to the elephants, which we spotted in hundreds in Amboseli National Park, guarded by the lofty Mt.Kilimanjaro.

It has always been a dream for us to visit Africa, especially Masai Mara and Amboseli for my elephant-smitten dad. And the seven day rush across the continent’s Great Rift Valley and all that lay within still feels like one…

Stay tuned for a blow by blow account of this incredible trip!!

31 thoughts on “Jambo from Kenya!!

  1. That’s so awesome! I’m so happy for you. I got to go to Disney’s Animal Kingdom last week and all I could think of was one day going to real Africa. I can’t wait to hear about your adventures more.

  2. I went to Masai Mara a few years ago and it was one of the best trips of my life. I’m so glad you were able to go as well. I can’t wait to see more of your photos and read more about your great journey!

  3. I got cut off in the middle of the comment but just wanted you to know that it is great to see your wonderful blog again and I still cannot believe that you don’t have something gooey on that ice cream! You and I are on the same page about animals and I love reading about what I cannot see through your blog. Great to connect again! Love

  4. Another traveller: AWESOME. I will stay tuned. The world is beautiful. We need to get out & see that.

    Bon voyage 🙂

  5. How wonderful! Hubby and I were married in Kenya in 1995, we adored it and the safaris in Amboseli and Tsavo national parks were out of this world. We’d love to go back one day, until then I’ll drool over your photos and dream!

Leave a Reply

